Don’t call it a Chromebook, It’s been here for years

I just finished saying how strong sound can be in marketing when this great ad by Google came blasting out of my TV during NFL Monday night football’s commercial breaks (thank god for TV time, these games are too long, and are two days of every week reeeeeeally necessary?!!?).  Anyhow, the song is amazing, that caught my ear.  The engaging graphics, they caught my eye.  I mean, using Power Rangers Megazord (I don’t even know what that is, I had to look it up) to illustrate virus protection is genius.  Especially when edited to the beat of the music.  Judge for yourself:

It’s called “For Everything: Built-In,” which I have to say, doesn’t do the ad (or the product) justice.  IMHO.  The ad is great.   It explains in an entertaining way how it makes your life more awesome, and hers, and his, and….for everyone???  Yes, young Jedi, everyone.

I’ve found spots from the same campaign running as early as December of 2012 by agency Mullen and they were… OK.   This latest artistic production casts such a large shadow that the old ones will soon be hard to find.

I’m amazed that the Chromebook has been around that long…this is the first I’m hearing of it?   Maybe this is the first time an ad for it has effectively cut through the clutter.   Maybe the damn thing was doomed by its meh-meh name.  Chromebook??  Who wants a book made of chrome?  

Anybody?  

Anybody?
Didn’t think so.  Sounds heavy.  Cold to the touch.  Very old, dare I say…dead.  Nothing like a computer that’s not a computer but brings all the best of a computer (the web) with none of its worst (PC-like prerequisites: virus protection, 5-minute boot ups, endless updates, never-ending patches, never enough document storage, losing your documents, expensive software).

Revolutionary!

Instead of harping on the negativity of what we’ve begrudgingly accepted as the norm (as this Old Chromebook Ad from 12/12/12 did), this new ad sings with the happier times ahead because of the revolutionary new Chromebook.

And at $279, it’s for Everyone.  Yeah.

Leave a comment